We Are (Still) too comfortable

 

I was running from many things.
The gospel being one of them.

When I finally saw the truth and succumbed to the light I knew the fight was over. God had won and He had my attention.

I later came to the realization that the reason I waited so long to turn my life over to Christ was probably because I was scared of what He would ask me to do. Where He would ask me to go.

It is not easy handing your life over to someone else and letting them take the reins. But now my thoughts are more along the lines of, what would my life be like if I would have let my fear control me?

But you know what?

I’m not scared anymore. God has my attention.

How could we change the world if we truly realized the weight of salvation? If we could see the people who have died without Christ? If we could visualize them running straight to hell?

Christians sometimes sugar coat the gospel, make it smooth and sweet, so it goes down easy. They try to make it more desirable by taking hell out of it, when in reality that is a big part of the beauty!

Jesus took your hell.

We have become churches with fancy light shows rather than a place where we, the lights, are recharged and sent back out into the world to shine in the darkness.

We live our little “Christian” lives trying to do good, but forgetting the reason for our Christian values.

We are faith wimps. The slightest bump in the road causes doubt.

Church becomes like a club where only the good people fit in and the ones who need the most love are turned away.

WE, the next generation, need to step up to the plate and do the hard thing of making church a place where we are raw, share our struggles, share encouragement, worship, and get expounded teaching in the Bible.

Do hard things.

Doing hard things begins with having a vision and working towards it.

One vision that all Christians should have is to see every person come to salvation. It is a hard thing to tell people about Christ, not knowing if they will reject you or not.

What I have found in the past year since I wrote the original “We Are Too Comfortable,” is that it is definitely not as hard as it seems. Approaching people at the local park and just talking and sharing the gospel is surprisingly easy.

Or hanging door flyers inviting them to your church.

You could witness to your coworkers. People at school. It is the initial fear that leaves you stranded.

God does not give you the spirit of fear though. You have the power to be courageous through Him. All things are possible through Christ.

My challenge to you this summer, this year, and for the rest of your life, is to do your best to be God’s ambassador.

You are His body here on earth.

But, being honest here, it comes down to you and your relationship with your God.

Is He worth possible cussing out, accusations, rude comments, and/or worse?

Is He worth it?

Your actions define your heart towards Him.

2 thoughts on “We Are (Still) too comfortable

Leave a Reply

