Sibling Wars

img_1048
Sibling Wars!

Okay, no, I’m not talking about a fun tournament or game. I’m talking about every single day of my life. Nerf guns, peace treaties, and time-outs. With six of us kids, my house can get quite hectic at times!

Okay, any one else here have problems, fights, etc, with your siblings? I am willing to bet that I am not the only one. Well, I’ve been trying to be nice to them. . . well. . . for my whole life. And it has not been easy. I can accurately say that I am just beginning this journey.

What I have ultimately learned is that you cannot become a saint over night. It takes baby steps. I started with just taking my sister to the horse barn with me. Then I began purposefully using encouraging language. Also, I’ve been trying to be more patient and long-suffering. It is a proven fact that siblings can be ANNOYING! And of course we could NEVER be annoying. . . right?

Also, I’ve begun to pray over my relationships with my siblings. I still have a long way to go. My siblings need to be encouraged by me. But the real question is, are they? How are your relationships with your siblings?

6 thoughts on “Sibling Wars

  1. sgwilloughby

    Yeah, you aren’t alone. πŸ™‚ A book that my family has enjoyed on this subject is ‘Making Brothers and Sister’s Best Friends’ by Sarah, Stephan, and Grace Mally.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. haileyhudson

    This might sound cliche, but as I get older I’ve noticed that my brother is the one person who’s always there. I have different friends this year than last year; I’m not friends with many people from middle school anymore. But he’s always across the hallway and we do so much together; we have so many inside jokes, I can’t count them all!

    Liked by 3 people

  3. sgwilloughby

    Yes, Hailey, I agree! Friends may come and go, but our brothers will always be our brothers. They have seen us at our worst and best, and for sure! There are tons of inside jokes! ;D

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

