Staying Christian in College

 

img_1711
I sat in my classes, letting my eyes follow my professor across the room. His monotonous tone droned in my ears. He continued with ridiculous evidence for evolution. I feel indoctrinated every single day. Every single day is a war to stay true to myself and my God. The strength it takes to stand up for my beliefs are starting to weaken. My heart aches in the mornings while I prepare for a day full of classes. Every day is a struggle and every day God continues to give me strength, as long as I ask him.
Okay, School is hard. Whether it is high school or college, we all struggle to fit in. It is a very real feeling. We want to be accepted and we definitely do not want to seem weird. But, when we become Christians, we often have to kiss that dream goodbye. However, we do not always have to. In order to make it through an experience like this, we must be solid in our beliefs and in who we are as a person. You cannot allow someone els’s opinion of you, rattle you. When discussing this topic, there are many different things that could be discussed. However, we will be discussing how you can prepare before college, so that when you do get there, you are ready for it. Whether secular, or a Bible college, there is much to learn!
Read your Bible! Okay, this may seem completely obvious, but you have no idea how serious I am. Know your Bible. Know what it says about different topics. Topics that I have had to biblically combat here at college so far include: spanking, abortion, raising children, creation, LGTB community, slavery, utopian societies, intelligence, conscience, etc. – 1 Peter 3:15, “But in your hearts set Christ apart [as holy—acknowledging Him, giving Him first place in your lives] as Lord. Always be ready to give a [logical] defense to anyone who asks you to account for the hope and confident assurance [elicited by faith] that is within you, yet [do it] with gentleness and respect”(AMP)
Know how to answer. A big part of being able to answer someone’s questions is by reading your Bible. But beyond just reading your Bible, read books to accompany your Bible. One that I would recommend is “The School of Biblical Evangelism”, by Ray Comfort and Kirk Cameron. This book gave me a lot of practical ways to share my faith and make an impact in the world.
Know your own identity. If you do not know who are in Christ, you will be swept away in the culture. Your identity in Christ should be the most important thing in the world to you. When you are saved, God looks at you not only as flawless, but as if you never sinned in the first place. This world will try to remind you of past mistakes. It will try to tear you down. But guess what? You are not defined by the world’s standards anymore, you are defined by Gods.
Pray, pray, pray. Pray for the unsaved people in your classes. Pray that you would be humble as well as a good witness. Ask God for courage to speak up as well as gentleness and respect.
Going into a college university, you will get pushback. Even from some Christians, as the case may be. I had one Christian friend tell me that I was being “too spiritual”. Problems arise, and you must be ready for them.
Be encouraged though. If you are getting pushback, it is most likely because satan does not like what you are doing and is trying to get a hold on you. I hope these few tips were helpful to you and I will be praying for all of you as you are finishing up your first semester this school year.

Leave a Reply

