How to be UNCOMFORTABLE at College

Being uncomfortable at school is hard. Whether that be high school or college. So, the question quickly arises “Why even BE uncomfortable at school ?” There seems to be three main reasons for being uncomfortable at school: to better yourself, reach out to others, and because the Bible says so!

The first two are self explanatory but the third I will explain. How does the Bible tell us to be uncomfortable?
Romans 1:16, “ For I am not ashamed of the gospel, because it is the power of God that brings salvation to everyone who believes:The Bible tells us to be uncomfortable every day for the sake of the gospel.”

1 Peter 3:15, “ But in your hearts revere Christ as Lord. Always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect”

This means taking up our cross every single day and following Jesus. Cross’s are painful, uncomfortable and rude. But that is what we are called to bear.

Mathew 6: 24-26, “Then Jesus told his disciples, “If anyone would come after me, let him deny himself and take up his cross and follow me.For whoever would save his life[a] will lose it, but whoever loses his life for my sake will find it. For what will it profit a man if he gains the whole world and forfeits his soul? Or what shall a man give in return for his soul?

2 Timothy 1:7, “ For God gave us a spirit not of fear but of power and love and self-control.”

So, how do you be uncomfortable at college?
You can start conversations with your classmates in and out of class. A lot of times you are sitting in class a few minutes early, chatting with your classmates. Make those conversations matter.

Ask your professor questions. As I am going to a secular college right now, I can give you some examples. In my sociology (the study of society) class, we were discussing Marriage and while I could have just sat there and let the conversation slide, I did not. I had him clarify and asked him questions that would make him doubt the accuracy of what he was saying. When in my biology class, my professor was talking about why Darwin turned away from the faith, and that a main reason was because he found sea shells on top of mountains and that it made no sense. So, I raised my hand and talked about how that was actually proof of Noah’s flood.

Don’t be afraid state what you believe in papers (IF IT IS AN OPINION PAPER. Giving your thoughts on something when it is not asked for is not looked kindly on at college or school). I had to do a paper on Creation vs. Evolution and then my thoughts on it. I was nervous to do this paper because It was a huge part of my grade. But, I ended up getting full points and the professor said that while he disagreed with everything that I said, It was well said, well written, and made sense the way that I had written it.
Witness around campus. Find out what the laws are regarding handing out tracts at your school. And never be afraid to simply talk to people and share the gospel.

Being uncomfortable is not only beneficial and good, it is necessary. Being uncomfortable is Biblical. When God wants you to grow, He makes you uncomfortable.

“It is true that God may have called you to be exactly where you are. But, It is absolutely vital to grasp that He didn’t call you there so you could settle in and live your life in comfort and superficial peace.” – Fraamces Chan, Forgotten God

Remember that great things have never come from comfort zones.

When you are faced with the idea to take a step back, or take a step forward. Remember when stepping forward you are walking into new territory and you will be uncomfortable. But if you take a step back, well, you have already been there, comfortable as ever.

7 thoughts on “How to be UNCOMFORTABLE at College

  1. Tatiana

    Emma, your posts about witnessing at college are so helpful and motivating. I would love to read more of your specific experiences being a light for Christ/sharing the gospel at your college campus. It is something I struggle with (as in, I am timid and never bring up Jesus in my conversations at college or work). Reading how it has played out for others always encourages me. Thanks for all you do!

    Liked by 2 people

    • toocomfortableblog

      Thank you Tatiana! (Your name is beautiful BTW!). I will definitely be writing more about that soon 🙂 If you want to subscribe so that you get notified when I post, you can do that. I struggle with it as well, trust me. It is very hard to jump out of one’s comfort zone… but it is so worth it! I’m glad it was encouraging 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

