College Dreamer

I was at my college, walking out of class, and a girl from one of my classes was following me. So, I started up a conversation and we began conversing about the class, and then things turned to more personal. She asked me what my major was and I told her that at that specific college all I was doing was getting an associates degree of arts and a certificate in communications, but I plan on going into overseas missions.

She followed by asking me if that was because a Christian, and I answered that it was. Then she glanced at me and said, “how old are you?”. “Just eighteen” I replied hesitantly. Then she just nodded her head as if she had solved a great mystery and said, “Now it makes sense. You are young and still a dreamer.”

Ah, how often do we hear this? Those of us who dream big, and choose to do HARD things, get these comments often. There are two different paths you could choose to go down both mentally and physically when you get these types of comments.

  1. You can give up.Β You can choose to let this negative voice keep you from pursuing your dreams. You can give it all away in order to pursue what you have no interest in. You can choose to let these people keep you from doing hard things and even from growing as a person.
  2. You can keep going.Β You can choose to use this negative voice to push you harder. To keep you working to master what you are pursuing. To follow your God given dreams until they are fulfilled!

Key words here are “YOU choose”. You choose what happens. Life happens, and that is obvious. But, do not allow mere humans to decide your God-given life. Your life is Gods once you are saved and His to work through.

I hope this was encouraging!

Have a beautiful day! ❀

6 thoughts on “College Dreamer

  1. haileyhudson

    Ooh, this is really good. Also sad, though, since it sounds like she doesn’t have a strong faith.

    Also, I’m glad to see someone who wants to be a missionary studying something other than missions. I want to be a missionary, but I’m going to study creative writing and sports administration, and some people have looked at me askance when I’ve told them that. One reason I’ve given is–what if God calls you into a country where it would raise red flags for you to have a degree in missions or theology or Bible translation? πŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

  2. jackspratweb

    it really is hard for young college girls or boys, to stay strong in their faith when circumstances or conversations try to tilt their axis as such. Good on you for being strong and keeping the your eyes on your path. W
    are all called to spread the word, its our “job” and no matter what people throw at you, no matter where in the world you may be, we all need to stay strong in our faith and have the courage to continue. You go girl! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

