Do Hard Things Got Me Into College at 15

We can change the world.

The book Do Hard Things has drastically changed my life. From one thing to another, it has influenced almost every past of my existence. I used to be apathetic and had an awful work ethic. I would quit things that I started and never quite put all the effort I could into a project.

One specific example I can give you is the story of how I got into college at 15. Though many other things followed after reading this book, this was a major one! After reading this book, by Brett and Alex Harris, I was changed through and through. Because of this book, I have been able to push boundaries and shatter the expectations of the society around me.

(my parents are amazing and did all of their homework and paperwork in order to get me to college. I could not have done this without them.)

Once I read Do Hard Things, I learned to go above and beyond what was expected of me. I learned to rebel against the low expectations of my society, family, and friends. So, in one sense Do Hard Things got me to work hard and get into college.

However, when you take the test to get into the college, you have to write an essay. You are given a prompt and you have roughly 30 minutes to write an essay. I don’t even remember what my topic was. I guess it wasn’t all that interesting (hahaha!). But, what I focused on within the larger topic was.

I was able to unite Do Hard Thing’s message with the original topic. I was able to weave in all of my ideas and thoughts about rebelling against low expectations and being the change that you want to see in the world. Young people and old people can change the world by leading by example.

Basically, I wanted to encourage all of you:

  • If you have not read the amazing book Do Hard Things, you NEED to. It has completely changed my life. This is the number one thing that I acclaim to have changed my life the most.
  • Don’t be scared to be the change that you want to see in the world.
  • Don’t be scared to rebel against low expectations. Just do it! 🙂

What is amazing is that several years after reading this book, I came in contact with Brett Harris and was able to publish an article on their site therebelution.com. Since then, I have been one of their regular writers and am working towards bigger platforms to preach Jesus and the message that he has handed to me, that we are too comfortable.

Have a beautiful day! xoxo ❤

 

Leave a Reply

