I Want To Feel Normal.

As Christians, sometimes we just want to feel normal. We want to fit in with our society and to not feel like an outcast. We want to have a sense of belonging and enjoy life without worrying about not fitting in because of our beliefs.

What we do not realize is that if we were to join with our culture, we would be more insecure and feel more alone than ever.

Jesus calls us to be in the world and not of it. Do you ever wonder why he gave us this commandment? I do.

There are some things that immediately come to mind such as Him wanting what is best for us,  or He doesn’t want us to put corrupt things into our minds.

But there are also things like being willing to suffer for his name, being willing to pick up our cross and follow Him, and being willing to be uncomfortable for the sake of the gospel.

I am currently going to a secular community college and I just had to leave my class because my professor decided to show a rated R Homosexual/Gay movie.

I cannot, in good conscience, sit there and watch that movie. It conflicts with my beliefs and my conscience will not allow it. This is just a small example of nonverbally standing up for my beliefs.

How are you willing to be uncomfortable for the sake of Christ? How far are you willing to go? How radical are you willing to be? These are just some thoughts I have to leave you with today.

Have a beautiful day xoxo ❤

13 thoughts on “I Want To Feel Normal.

  1. april9th1998

    I’m willing to be uncomfortable for the sake of Christ by not hearing others say bad words and putting headphones in to avoid it. One of my coworkers called me a slut but I stood up for myself and asked him if he knew the Lord and reads the Bible. 2/3 people go to church and believe in God where I work at. I am one of them. Do you have any advice for me?

    Like

  2. Allen R. Kive

    This is a great, encouraging post. I’m currently attending a secular community college. (I was homeschooled prior to that too). Thankfully, I haven’t had to face anything too objectionable in the classroom. I guess that’s one good thing about being in a technology major. 🙂 I know one of my christian friends who’s majoring in social work at the same college definitely faces things in his classrooms. When I first started attending college, I was definitely quiet about my faith (I didn’t want to be uncomfortable 🙂), but recently the Lord revealed to me how selfish that was. A secular college is a great mission field. I’ve decided to treat it like that. Besides just being a “good example” to my other students, I’m taking opportunities when they are provided to share my faith with others. Recently one of my non-saved friends/coworker saw me on campus reading my Bible. When he asked about it, I was able to to share the gospel with him. It definitely takes courage to take a stand for Christ and away from the world, but that’s what were called to do and we’re given the strength to do so!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. april9th1998

    I need to talk to somebody about dating. Is there an age limit? Should I date Christians? I’m having a rough time actually talking to Dylan. I did at the Spring Banquet and it’s too awkward for me. What should I do? I’m freaking out Emma!

    Like

Leave a Reply

