Another Child Gone (Foster Care)

Another one was gone. My family fosters children. We don’t necessarily do it to adopt. But to be the in between home. The home that children, when taken from horrible situations came to recover, learn about Jesus, and be loved.

It is a ministry that my family has taken on that has brought the most pain I have ever endured, and the most joy I have ever had.

We had one placing that was at our home for nearly a year, went to a “permanant” home, and then they sent the siblings back to us. The first time they left was heart breaking. I cried myself to sleep so many nights. It was horrible. The second time they left was worse. They had been a part of our home for two years. They had become family. We love them so much. With so much pain, you would have to ask, why do it? Well. . .

The time WITH us was amazing. They were such a blessing to us. They ARE such a blessing to us. It’s funny because people tell us, “oh I could never do that”, but the funny thing is, we love it! These children are hurting so much and they need people to love them and take care of them. Β As painful as it can be when they leave, having them is the most joyous and amazing thing.

Jesus commanded us to take care of the orphans and widows. This is how my family chooses to do this. We believe that God has called us to this work. So many things in our lives led us to this decision, but it was obviously from God. God has blessed with more family and more love.

This was kind of hard to write about, since it is so personal. Let me know if you would be interested in hearing more about my families journey with foster care.

IMG_0024

 

7 thoughts on “Another Child Gone (Foster Care)

  1. createinmeblogging

    My family has adopted. My two youngest siblings are from Haiti (to quote TobyMac, ‘Milk and Coffee has always been a beautiful blend’!)! πŸ˜€ Adoption, as I’m sure with foster, has so many challenges and we still struggle on a daily basis. But, there has also been SO MUCH GOOD. God is such an amazing God and when He calls you on a specific path (like adoption and foster), You see His guidance and goodness like crazy (even if some days you choose to ignore it… I know I’m guilty!)!!!
    Thanks you for writing this piece! It really is beautiful!

    Like

Leave a Reply

